Lay Trustees appointed to College of General Dentistry

News Published: 
25 July 2019

Two Independent Trustees have been appointed to the Board of the College of General Dentistry.


Kate Gregory is a legal consultant and qualified litigator, with 25 years’ experience of regulation and governance across the public and private sectors. After training as a solicitor, she worked as Assistant Legal Adviser to the Civil Aviation Authority, then Group Legal Adviser to National Air Traffic Services. Later moving to the Department of Health, she became lead lawyer on a number of high value contracts including a £3.5 billion procurement of surgical procedures, before moving to Sodexo as Deputy General Counsel. From 2007-14 she was Director of Legal Services for Pearson Education, with responsibility for the oversight of awarding bodies Edexcel and Pearson College, and she is currently Non-Executive Director of The Symphony Group.


Lesley Pan specialises in building and developing businesses and charitable enterprises. After achieving a BA in Organisational Behaviour and Management from Brown University, she became a freelance business consultant in China before completing an MBA at INSEAD. She then spent 17 years at management consultancy A T Kearney, delivering projects for Bupa, NHS England, pharmaceutical firms Sanofi, Merck and Takeda, the Nike Foundation and the Departments of Trade & Industry and Work and Pensions. She later became Director of Business Operations for Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals and a non-executive director of engineering firm Positive Energy, and since 2013 has been a commercial advisor to small businesses including Seldoc, a GP cooperative providing out-of-hours clinical services.


The Board of the College of General Dentistry has evolved from the Transition Board, and has a mandate from the elected Board of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (FGDP(UK)) to develop the new College, and to make constitutional preparations for the transfer of the FGDP(UK) from the Royal College of Surgeons of England. Other members of the College Board include Nairn Wilson, Ian Mills, Mick Horton, Kevin Lewis, Duncan Rudkin and Neil Sawbridge. Two additional Dentist Trustees are in the process being appointed.


Further information on the College of General Dentistry is available at