FGDP(UK) Fellowship Awards 2017-18

News Published: 
14 November 2017

The Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK) has awarded Fellowships to thirteen individuals in recognition of their exceptional contribution to the profession. Fellowship is the highest award offered by FGDP(UK), and is a pinnacle of achievement for the profession. Two people have been given Honorary Fellowship, seven Fellowship by Election and four Fellowship Ad Eundum. The awards will be conferred at the annual FGDP(UK) Diplomates Ceremony, which will take place on 12 March 2018.


Honorary Fellowship

Professor Keith Horner
Keith Horner qualified as a dentist in 1981 from Leeds University and held several hospital posts in Leeds and Sheffield. He has served on influential working parties and advised bodies such as the Health Protection Agency and the IAEA Radiation Protection of Patients Unit. He is also Co-Editor of the FGDP's Selection Criteria for Dental Radiography guidance. 

Mrs Fiona Erasmus
Mrs Erasmus is a former Director of FGDP(UK) (2013-2016), and has been recognised for her leadership skills and distingushed service to FGDP(UK). 

Fellowship By Election

Dr Graham Douglas Stokes
Dr Graham Stokes has been providing dental implants for over ten years, and obtained the FGDP(UK) Diploma in Implant Dentistry in 2009. Clinical Lead at a practice in Bromsgrove, where he has been based since 1991, Dr Stokes also lectures widely across the UK on implants, full dentures and treatment planning.

Dr Jeremy Andrew Cooper
Dr Cooper has lectured in the UK and abroad, and was made Clinical Fellow of the German dental firm VOCO two years ago. He is also a regular contributor to GDPUK.

Mr William Paul Cushley
Mr Cushley has worked as a Vocational Training Adviser for NHS Education in Scotland for the last 16 years, and has been an examiner on the DGDP, MFGDP and latterly the MJDF for the Faculty.

Mr Bruce Hogan
Mr Hogan graduated from Glasgow University in 1987 gaining BDS with honours. Currently Chair of FGDP(UK)'s West of Scotland Division, he is also an examiner for the Faculty of Dental Surgery of the RCPS Glasgow, and serves on the Board of Dental Education, Training & Professional Development at the College. He regularly lectures to VDPs on the use of local anaesthetics.

Mr Tony Wyn Jones
In addition to practicing dentisry since 1982, Mr Jones has served in Afghanistan as an RAF Dental Officer. He was an examiner for the MFGDP and later the MJDF from 2003-2012, including examining in Hong Kong.

Dr Pearse Stinson

Dr Stinson obtained his dental degree in 1981, after which he commenced an associateship in General Practice. He opened his own practice in 1986 and has been active in the FGDP since its inception, serving as a Board member for twelve years.

Dr Derek Maguire
Dr Maguire qualified 30 years ago from Queen's University, Belfast. He has also been awarded Membership of the Faculty of Dental Trainers with the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (MDTFEd).

Fellowship Ad Eundem

  • Mr Nicholas John Lewis
  • Dr Daniel Chi Kwok Ng
  • Mr Anish N Shah
  • Dr Kenny Siu Keung Tong

Fellowship by Assessment
FGDP(UK) also confers Fellowship by Assessment. This programme will shortly be re-opened following a review, and FGDP(UK) Members can register their interest by emailing fgdp-education@fgdp.org.uk.