Faculty Medal

The award of the prestigious Faculty Medal is reserved for the most notable of contributions

Michael Mulcahy FFGDP(UK)
Michael Mulcahy is a Past Dean of the Faculty, and one of the founding members of FGDP(UK). He has held various positions over the last 27 years and is currently the Chair of the Management Board for Restorative Dentistry. There are few Members of our Faculty who have contributed so much of their life to the Faculty as Michael has.


Shelagh Farrell FFGDP(UK)
Shelagh served as a member of the Faculty Board from its inception, including a period as Vice-Dean; she has been a leading and vocal proponent of an independent college through that time and for greater professional recognition for general dentistry. She had previously served on the Board of our sister Faculty. She qualified in Bristol in 1971, passed her MGDS RCS (Eng) in 1980 and completed her MSc at the Eastman Dental Institute in 1991. She was principal in her own practice in Bristol from 1973 - 1995 and part-time clinical lecturer at the Maurice Wohl Centre, KCSMD.  Shelagh specialised in prosthodontics and was an elected member of the General Dental Council for many years. Shelagh continues to work with the Transition Board to support the College of General Dentistry initiative.